Skip to navigation Skip to content

Staff and Students

Staff

For students, follow the link here: Students

A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Use the person's name to navigate to their own web page

Name Post title Email
Alice Ambler Research Scientist alice.ambler@hutton.ac.uk
Rebekka Artz Research Scientist rebekka.artz@hutton.ac.uk
Gillian Banks Lab. Technician gillian.banks@hutton.ac.uk
Joan Beaton Ecologist joan.beaton@hutton.ac.uk
Graham Begg Ecological Modeller graham.begg@hutton.ac.uk
Glyn Bengough Root Soil Biophysicist glyn.bengough@hutton.ac.uk
Alison Bennett Rhizosphere Microbiologist alison.bennett@hutton.ac.uk
Damien Bienkowski Post-Doctoral Researcher damien.bienkowski@hutton.ac.uk
Kirsty Binnie Research Technican kirsty.binnie@hutton.ac.uk
Nick Birch Senior Research Entomyologist nick.birch@hutton.ac.uk
Helaina Black Group Leader helaina.black@hutton.ac.uk
Andrea Britton Plant Ecologist andrea.britton@hutton.ac.uk
Rob Brooker Plant Ecologist rob.brooker@hutton.ac.uk
Lawrie Brown Research Assistant lawrie.brown@hutton.ac.uk
Clare Cameron Research Assistant clare.cameron@hutton.ac.uk
Sandra Caul Research Scientist sandra.caul@hutton.ac.uk
Steve Chapman Senior Scientist steve.chapman@hutton.ac.uk
Susan Cooksley Catchment Scientist susan.cooksley@hutton.ac.uk
Tim Daniell Theme Leader tim.daniell@hutton.ac.uk
Maud Darsonval Post-Doctoral Researcher maud.darsonval@hutton.ac.uk
Chantel Davies EU Project Facilitator chantel.davies@hutton.ac.uk
Erica Dello Jacovo Research Assistant erica.dellojacovo@hutton.ac.uk
Lionel Dupuy Mathematical Phytologist lionel.dupuy@hutton.ac.uk
Richard Dye Ecological Modeller richard.dye@hutton.ac.uk
Antonia Eastwood Plant Ecologist antonia.eastwood@hutton.ac.uk
Debbie Fielding Research Assistant debbie.fielding@hutton.ac.uk
Linda Ford Field and Glasshouse Technician linda.ford@hutton.ac.uk
Thomas Freitag Molecular Microbiologist thomas.freitag@hutton.ac.uk
Tim George Rhizosphere Scientist tim.george@hutton.ac.uk
Lucy Gilbert Ecological Epidemiologist lucy.gilbert@hutton.ac.uk
Courtney Giles Research Assistant courtney.giles@hutton.ac.uk
Cathy Hawes Research Scientist cathy.hawes@hutton.ac.uk
Alison Hester Theme Leader alison.hester@hutton.ac.uk
Richard Hewison Research Assistant richard.hewison@hutton.ac.uk
Jack Holland Agronomist jack.holland@hutton.ac.uk
Pete Iannetta Molecular Ecologist pete.iannetta@hutton.ac.uk
Glen Iason Senior Scientist glen.iason@hutton.ac.uk
Justin Irvine Ecological Epidemiologist justin.irvine@hutton.ac.uk
Euan James Research Leader euan.james@hutton.ac.uk
Ali Karley Research Leader ali.karley@hutton.ac.uk
Dale King Soil Ecology Support dale.king@hutton.ac.uk
Adrian Langarica Fuentes Research Assistant adrian.langaricafuentes@hutton.ac.uk
Gaynor Malloch Research Scientist gaynor.malloch@hutton.ac.uk
Marta Maluk Research Assistant marta.maluk@hutton.ac.uk
Diana Menzel Laboratory Assistant diana.menzel@hutton.ac.uk
Carolyn Mitchell Research Assistant carolyn.mitchell@hutton.ac.uk
Ruth Mitchell Plant Soil Ecologist ruth.mitchell@hutton.ac.uk
Susan Mitchell Research Technician susan.mitchell@hutton.ac.uk
Paul Neave Field Technician paul.neave@hutton.ac.uk
Roy Neilson Rhizosphere Ecologist roy.neilson@hutton.ac.uk
Linda Nell Field Technician linda.nell@hutton.ac.uk
Scott Newey Population Ecologist scott.newey@hutton.ac.uk
Felicity O'Callaghan Research Post-Doc felicity.o'callaghan@hutton.ac.uk
Eulyn Pagaling Environmental Microbiologist eulyn.pagaling@hutton.ac.uk
Robin Pakeman Plant Ecologist robin.pakeman@hutton.ac.uk
Eric Paterson Root Physiologist/Biochemist eric.paterson@hutton.ac.uk
Daniel Patko Post-Doctoral Scientist daniel.patko@hutton.ac.uk
Nora Quesada Pizarro Landscape Agroecologist nora.quesadapizarro@hutton.ac.uk
Q    
Sheila Reid Ecological Assistant sheila.reid@hutton.ac.uk
Dave Roberts Research Scientist dave.roberts@hutton.ac.uk
Lucinda Robinson Research Assistant lucinda.robinson@hutton.ac.uk
Patrick Sherwood Chemical Ecologist patrick.sherwood@hutton.ac.uk
Allan Sim Research Scientist allan.sim@hutton.ac.uk
Catherine Smart Research Assistant catherine.smart@hutton.ac.uk
Geoff Squire Principle Research Scientist geoff.squire@hutton.ac.uk
Andy Taylor Molecular Fungal Ecologist andy.taylor@hutton.ac.uk
Nadine Thomas Research Assistant nadine.thomas@hutton.ac.uk
Jackie Thompson Research Assistant jackie.thompson@hutton.ac.uk
Rose Toney Local Biodiversity Co-ordinator rose.toney@hutton.ac.uk
U    
Tracy Valentine Root Biologist tracy.valentine@hutton.ac.uk
Duncan White Lab. Manager Microbiology duncan.white@hutton.ac.uk
Philip White Previous Programme Leader philip.white@hutton.ac.uk
Gladys Wright Research Assistant gladys.wright@hutton.ac.uk
X    
Mark Young Plant Scientist mark.young@hutton.ac.uk
Z    

[Return to top of page]

Students

To return to Staff list, navigate from here: Staff

A B C D E F G H I J K L M
N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

 

Name Supervisor Project
A    
Carina Baird Tim Daniell Micro-scale spatial organization of microbial denitrification and its implications for greenhouse gas emission
Nur Aqilah Mustafa Bakray Andy Taylor Ecology of Ectomycorrhizal Fungi Associated with Dipterocarpaceae
Edward Baxter Geoff Squire Conservation at the crop edge
Marvin Beckert Steve Chapman Manipulation of Black Carbon to Increase Soil Carbon Sequestration
Naveed Bhatti Ruth Mitchell Developing Monitoring Tools for Data Deficient Conservation Priority Lichen/Bryophyte Species
Kirsty Black Pete Iannetta The agroecological and human-health potential of the grain legumes Vicia faba L. minor (field bean) and Pisum sativum (pea) processed for brewing.
Kristine Bogomazova Ruth Mitchell Identification of species limits: clarifying taxonomy and ecology of BAP lichens
Rosie Broyd Andrea Britton Impacts of Snow-Lie Duration on C Cycling in Oceanic Alpine Ecosystems
Grant Campbell Helaina Black Application of Digital Soil Mapping to improve the quality of Nationals soils data and quantify uncertainty
Diriba Temesgen Dagaga Pete Iannetta Molecular characterisation of rhizobia and PGPRs of soybean
Elialdo Alves de Souza Philip White How nitrogen source affects phosphorus acquisition by maize
Peggy Ehrlich Andy Taylor Host identity and Climate as Determinants of Ectomycorrhizal Fungal Distribution in Scotland
Aiona Pravia Fernandez Nick Littlewood Evaluating peatland management and restoration for multiple outcomes
Sam Gandy Helaina Black The influence of termites on the supply of ecosystem services from dryland ecosystems
Sara Gandy Lucy Gilbert Biodiversity Impacts on Lyme Disease Risk and Pathogen Genomics
Matthew Guy Lucy Gilbert Impacts of coastal environment changes on agri-ecosystem productivity
H    
I    
Erica Dello Jacovo Pete Iannetta Seed and seedling phenomics: mountain legumes of the genera Astragalus and Oxytropis 
Leigh-Anne Kemp Andy Taylor The Role of Soil Fertility in the Function of Mycorrhizal Associations
Petra Lackova Justin Irvine The Adaptive Management of Wildlife Conflicts
Kristen Lees Rebekka Artz Measuring peatland carbon sequestration by remote sensing
Daniel Leybourne Ali Karley/Tracy Valentine Understanding molecular plant-aphid interactions to control cereal aphids under environmental change
Lisa Malm Nick Littlewood/Ali Karley The impacts of habitat modification on avian food web structure and resilience
Solene Marion Justin Irvine Human Disturbance and Habitat Use by Red Deer
Janet MacLean Robin Pakeman Restoration of community composition and ecosystem function after invasive Rhododendron control
Gertjan Meijer Glyn Bengough Planting for Slope Stabilization
Genet Gebreyohannes Mhretu Pete Iannetta Molecular characterisation of faba bean rhizobia
Maria Morena Ali Karley/Carolyn Mitchell Do bacterial endosymbionts influence vine weevil pest status and control?
Corran Musk Rebekka Artz C and N mobilisation by ericoid mycorrhizal fungi: a genomic approach
Lumbani Mwafulirwa Eric Paterson Enhanced soil C storage and GHG mitigation through root trait selection
Konrad Neugebauer Philip White The Evolution of Sodium Accumulation in the Caryophyllales
Fanny Olsthoorn Lucy Gilbert Effect of woodland expansion on tick populations and Lyme disease risk
Peter Orrell Alison Bennett Linking above and below-ground interactions in agro-ecosystems : an ecological network approach
Joao Augusto Pascoalino Philip White Zinc use efficiency and its relationship with nitrogen in wheat biofortification
Paula Pongrac Philip White Zinc interaction with phosphorus in root uptake
Gabor Pozgai Nick Littlewood Long-term dynamics in ground beetle (Coleoptera: Carabidae) assemblages.
Rita Ribeiro Lucy Gilbert Modelling and citizen science for assessing Lyme disease risk in Scotland
Aryal Prakash Alison Hester How ecological and cultural factors influence single species plant conservation: a case study of Juniper in Scotland
Q    
Pi Uthaug Rasmussen Alison Bennett The impact of habitat fragmentation and climate change on the soil community and its consequences for ecosystem services
Emily Schofield Rob Brooker Temporal Dynamism, Soil Processes and Niche Complimentary: Novel Approaches to Understanding Diversity-Function Relationships
Jennifer Slater Lucy Gilbert/Ali Karley Managing Soils to Promote Plant Defence Against Pests
Catherine Thomas Lionel Dupey Identifying altered root traits from the shoot ionome
Caroline Upton Tracy Valentine Effect of soil physical properties on root architecture
Patrizia Vannuchi Andy Taylor Developing Molecular Approaches to Elucidate the Ecology and Funcation of Orbatid Mite Communities
Jose Van Paassen Andrea Britton Upland Management to Improve Carbon Sequestration and Ecosystem Health
Adrian Worton Lucy Gilbert Using mathematical models to understand the impact of climate change on tick-borne infections
X    
Y    
Z    

[Return to top of page]

Research

Areas of Interest


Printed from /research/groups/ecological%20sciences/staff%20and%20students on 12/12/18 11:40:58 PM

The James Hutton Research Institute is the result of the merger in April 2011 of MLURI and SCRI. This merger formed a new powerhouse for research into food, land use, and climate change.