Skip to navigation Skip to content

Changes to James Hutton Institute and JHL boards of directors announced

Professor James Curran, new Chair of the Institute’s Board of Directors
“Our new board members bring key skills and knowledge that will help move the James Hutton Group forward."

The James Hutton Institute today announced the appointment of a new Chair for the Institute Board, a move complemented by the appointment of a new Chair to the Board of James Hutton Ltd, its commercial subsidiary. Two new members of the Institute’s Board have also been appointed.

Having served previously as a Board member, Professor James Curran has been announced as the new Chair of the Institute’s Board of Directors. He has a science background in hydrometeorology and climate change, serving as an environmental regulator of industry and land managers and then specialising in policy and strategy development. He was Chief Executive of the Scottish Environment Protection Agency from 2012 to 2014.

Professor Curran will be joined by Iain Reid and Andrew Millar on the Institute’s Board of Directors. All of the appointments are the result of a public search, open to internal and external candidates.

Dr Deborah Keith will serve as the new Chair of the Board of James Hutton Limited. A serving Board member of the Institute, she has over 30 years of experience in the science and technology sector, most recently in corporate R&D strategy in Syngenta, a world-leading agribusiness company.

After announcing the appointments, Professor Colin Campbell commented: “I am delighted to welcome our new board members who bring key skills and knowledge that will help move the James Hutton Group forward. I am looking forward to working with James and Deborah in their new Chair roles and they fully understand our potential and needs.

“Board members cover a wide range of expertise, skills and knowledge and are instrumental in shaping the strategy of the organisation. This oversight has helped drive up the economic impact that our work provides to the Scottish and UK economy, recently measured at a return of £12.75 for every pound of public money received.

“I would also like to thank and pay tribute to the outgoing Chair, Ray Perman, and Board members Brian Clark, Laura Meagher, Allan Stevenson, George Thorley and Alan Werritty who are leaving at the end of their term. They have made a unique and positive contribution to the development of the James Hutton Institute from its inception.”

Press and media enquiries: 

Bernardo Rodriguez-Salcedo, Media Manager, Tel: +44 (0)1224 395089 (direct line), +44 (0)344 928 5428 (switchboard) or +44 (0)7791 193918 (mobile).

Printed from /news/changes-james-hutton-institute-and-jhl-boards-directors-announced on 04/12/23 09:48:44 AM

The James Hutton Research Institute is the result of the merger in April 2011 of MLURI and SCRI. This merger formed a new powerhouse for research into food, land use, and climate change.