Skip to navigation Skip to content

Hutton expertise called upon for Scottish Science Advisory Council

Professors Bob Ferrier and Marian Scott
“It is an honour to be able to contribute to the work of the Council, and support the opportunity for science and policy to work hand in hand”

Professor Bob Ferrier, Director of Scotland’s Centre of Expertise for Waters and honorary chair at the University of Dundee's Social Sciences School, and Professor Marian Scott, Professor of Environmental Statistics at the University of Glasgow and a member of the James Hutton Institute’s Board of Directors, are among six leading scientists who are set to join the Scottish Science Advisory Council (SSAC), the expert panel that supports the Chief Scientific Adviser for Scotland in her work with Scottish Ministers.

Joining the SSAC from 1 December 2019 are:

  • Professor Margaret Gill OBE, Emeritus Professor School of Biology, University of Aberdeen (Chair of SSAC)
  • Professor Robert Bowman, Head of the School of Maths and Physics, Queen’s University, Belfast
  • Professor Bob Ferrier, Director, Centre of Expertise for Waters, James Hutton Institute, and honorary chair, Social Sciences, University of Dundee 
  • Professor Julian Jones OBE, Vice Principal, Heriot-Watt University
  • Professor Marian Scott OBE, Professor of Environmental Statistics, University of Glasgow, and member of the James Hutton Institute Board of Directors
  • Professor Aziz Sheikh OBE, Director of the Usher Institute, University of Edinburgh

The new members will serve for three years, until 30 November 2022.

Commenting on the new appointments, Professor Sheila Rowan, Chief Scientific Adviser said: “The new members have a wealth of science expertise, and this, together with their experience of working with industry and organisations across the UK, will help ensure that the Scottish Government has access to the best scientific advice across a diverse range of policy areas.”

The new Chair of the SSAC, Professor Margaret Gill said: “I’m delighted to be appointed the Chair of the SSAC and look forward to working with our current and new members to continue to offer a broad range of science advice to support Ministers.”

New SSAC member, Professor Bob Ferrier, commented: “It is an honour to be able to contribute to the work of the Council, and support the opportunity for science and policy to work hand in hand.”

Science Minister Richard Lochhead welcomed the appointments: “Scotland is a science nation that enjoys a global reputation. In joining the SSAC the new members are continuing our great history of science. I look forward to meeting the new and existing members to discuss how the SSAC can add value to our work.”

The SSAC provides independent advice, through its Chair, to the Chief Scientific Adviser (CSA) for Scotland, to inform policy development and delivery across all areas of the Scottish Government’s work.

The SSAC supports the work of the CSA Scotland, Professor Sheila Rowan, the Chief Scientist (Health), Professor David Crossman, and the Chief Scientific Adviser for Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture, Professor Andrew Millar, all of whom are also ex-officio members of the SSAC.

Press and media enquiries: 

Elaine Docherty, Scottish Government, +44 (0)1312 443031, or Bernardo Rodriguez-Salcedo, Media Manager, James Hutton Institute, Tel: +44 (0)1224 395089 (direct line), +44 (0)344 928 5428 (switchboard) or +44 (0)7791 193918 (mobile).

Printed from /news/hutton-expertise-called-upon-scottish-science-advisory-council on 23/02/24 01:26:53 AM

The James Hutton Research Institute is the result of the merger in April 2011 of MLURI and SCRI. This merger formed a new powerhouse for research into food, land use, and climate change.